|  Share | Cite



Pronunciation: (mī"kru-nē'zhu, -shu), [key]
1. one of the three principal divisions of Oceania, comprising the small Pacific islands N of the equator and E of the Philippines, whose main groups are the Mariana Islands, the Caroline Islands, and the Marshall Islands.
2. Federated States of, a federation comprising the districts of Ponape, Truk, Yap, and Kosrae: part of the Trust Territory of the Pacific Islands.

Random House Unabridged Dictionary, Copyright © 1997, by Random House, Inc., on Infoplease.

See also:


Related Content